Victims of the May 7, 2019 flooding and severe storms that took place in Oklahoma may qualify for tax relief from the Internal Revenue Service.

Individuals who reside or have business in Canadian, Cherokee, Creek, Delaware, Kay, Le Flore, Logan, Mayes, Muskogee, Noble, Nowata, Okmulgee, Osage, Ottawa, Payne, Pottawatomie, Rogers, Sequoyah, Tulsa, Wagoner and Washington counties may qualify for tax relief.

The declaration permits the IRS to postpone certain deadlines for taxpayers who reside or have a business in the disaster area. For instance, certain deadlines falling on or after May 7, 2019 and before Sept. 16, 2019, are granted additional time to file through Sept. 16, 2019. This includes the quarterly estimated income tax payment due on June 17, 2019, as well as the employment and excise tax returns due on July 31, 2019.

For more information, please visit IRS Oklahoma Severe Storm Victim Relief